My favorite breakfast banana cake with figs and pecan nuts

_IMG6257_IMG6054Fall is just an amazing season. I love the explosion of colors._IMG7837_IMG6046_IMG6915
Right outside of my house. I love this view and this is what I look at from my bathroom window while brushing my teeth every day : )

_IMG7125
Where we swim and have fun in the summer time. This place is just pretty all year around. 

_IMG7821

_IMG7834

This is a breakfast banana cake that is inspired by my banana bread.  It has become one of my absolute favorite weekend and weekday breakfasts too if there are any leftovers ; ). This banana cake gives you a little bit of a dessert feeling but with all good ingredients. ; )

I made this the other week when cooking live on our local radio station P4 Kronoberg. I am so glad to have the opportunity to cook on the radio. To start with it is soooo much fun. I am so happy that there is an interest for natural food and they are the greatest team on the radio.

When I cook at the radio and I want to show people that natural food is really tasty and a great way of eating. I have to keep in mind that it is a broad audience and of course not everyone is open for my way of cooking the “paleo way” and might think the concept sounds really foreign. Yet, it is better not talking in terms of paleo or make it complicated. Just present my way of cooking and the food inviting and show how full of flavors and good food can be that is grain and dairy free. I also want to show that this way of cooking does not have to be time consuming or complicated.

This is a cake that demands pretty much five minutes of preparation and then the oven do the rest ; )


BREAKFAST BANANA BREAD

Here is the recipe and I hope you will enjoy it just as much as I do.

Serves approx. 3
I use a size smaller (approx. 23 cm) teflon frying pan suitable for the oven.

  • ½ tbs of coconut oil to grease the frying pan
  • 3 large bananas mashed with a fork
  • 5 (organic) large eggs
  • 0,4 cup of rich coconut milk or cream (1 dl)
  • 0,6 cup coconut flour (1,5 dl)
  • 0,5 cup almond flour (1 dl)
  • ½ teaspoon each of ground ginger, cinnamon, cardamom and turmeric
  • 1 heaped teaspoon baking powder (ca 1,5 tsk)
  • ½ teaspoon natural bourbon vanilla powder
    topping:
  • 3-4 sliced fresh figs
  • 1-2 handful of pecan nuts
  • honey (optional)
  • cacao nibs (optional)
  • hazelnuts (optional)

Put your oven on 175 degrees C or 347 degrees F. Grease your pan with the coconut oil.  I use a Teflon pan that is a bit smaller – approx. 23-25 cm. Whip together the egg and the mashed bananas with a fork. Add all remaining ingredients and mix well with a spoon. Pour up in your pan. Sprinkle the pecan nuts all over and gently press down the sliced fresh figs just a tiny little bit. I personally do not require any honey but I have also used some honey drizzled on top and of course this gives a really sweet and lovely taste. The figs will get a bit caramelized from the honey. Bake for 20-25 minutes. Let cool a bit but served best when still a bit warm. It´s really nice to serve some whipped coconut cream (you can add a bit of natural sweetness to the coconut cream if you want).

2 thoughts on “My favorite breakfast banana cake with figs and pecan nuts

  1. Anja, this looks perfect, I love that you’ve done it in an a pan, as I don’t have an oven in my Motorhome I am going to try to make this on the stove. I know we will love it and it’s wonderful that you haven’t added any sugar. Your photo’s always inspire me, your a very talented, I always find your recipes and pictures, delicious and inspiring I just wish I could read your book… 🙂 xxx

    Like

    1. Karen, Thank you soooo much. I appreciate your incredible sweet comment so much 😘 I’m not convinced it turns out all that good on a stove 😉 But I’m really glad that you like the recipe. I am seriously thinking about making my next book only in English – that would be fun. So curious – did you sell your home and moved permanently into your motor home? I hope you enjoy your time to the fullest. Hugs and Love, Anja

      Like

Leave a Reply

