Raw key lime pie with an added passion fruit flavor

_IMG8773 I love May more than the summer months  – everything that is blooming in the nature is so pretty and I want to freeze time and just be here and now. This is the first time our small cherry tree blossom with its pretty pink flowers. _IMG8919 Of course I had to put some of the pretty pink cherry blossom next to my raw cake. ; ) _IMG8684

Just look at that amazing sky – yesterday´s national holiday just could not have offered a nicer weather. I took a shot of my neighbors flag and I love the colors of the Swedish flag – blue as the sky and yellow as the sun.

_IMG8814

Some of the ingredients used for my raw key lime pie.

_IMG8918

Raw key lime pie with with passion fruit flavor 

The other day I tried a raw key lime pie at a cafe and I loved it. This is my version that is slightly inspired of what I enjoyed there. Since I had raw passion fruit powder at home I decided to “spice it up” with this as well ; ) But that is naturally optional and tastes great without adding passion fruit flavor. Since this was a first attempt I only made a small cake (15 centimeter spring form pan), so if you want to make a larger cake go ahead and double all ingredients. I really loved this cake but I am also crazy about avocado and lime and not to mention nuts and figs… ha ha.. just a perfect combo for me in other words. I hope you will enjoy!

Makes about 6 pieces – read above for recommended spring form pan.

For the crust:

  • 1 cup almonds
  • 1 cup shredded coconut
  • 6-7 soft dried (organic) figs

Mix all ingredients in a mixer until it comes nicely together or you can press it together with your hands and it stays together. Press down the crust in your spring form pan. Use a baking paper to be able remove your cake nice and easy once it has set in the fridge.

For the filling:

  • 1 cup cashew nuts soaked for 2-3 hours and thereafter rinsed in new fresh water
  • 2 large avocados
  • juice from two large lime fruit
  • 2 tbs raw passion fruit powder (optional) and I think fresh passion fruit would be great too
  • 1 tbs lucuma powder (optional)
  • 5 tbs raw honey or substitute for other natural sweetener
  • 2 tbs coconut oil
  • Topping: for instance fresh raspberries (I loved this combo)

Mix all ingredients in a blender until you have a wonderful mousse consistency. Depending on your mixer/blender this will take a few minutes. Spread out the filling on top of the crust. Let sit in fridge – preferably over night. Top with for instance fresh raspberries.

Leave a Reply

