Filled endive as a small appetizer

_IMG4708

A small little appetizer while your guests are waiting for dinner to get ready. Or just make one serving and enjoy it all to yourself. I will definitely do that next time I am home alone ; )

I served these with some sparkling rose wine and they made great little munch bites for four people. I should add that I used really tiny endive lettuce – just perfect to fit between two fingers and enjoy in two bites.  The lovely home made mayo with honey and orange fitted great with the smoked salmon, arugula, lamb´s lettuce, apple, pomegranate seeds and chopped almonds. Just use any mayo recipe for this. I used one egg yolk, salt, pepper, apple vinegar and just drizzled olive oil while stirring. When the consistency was perfect to my liking  I added the juice, honey and Dijon.

Serves 4

  • approx 150 gram of endive (I used really small leaves of endive – made 15 pieces)
  • 120 gram of smoked salmon – finely cut in smaller pieces
  • 1/2 of a larger apple in smaller pieces
  • a handful of arugula – finely cut
  • a handful lamb´s lettuce – finely cut
  • a handful of chopped almonds
  •  home made mayo to which I added fresh squeezed orange juice, Dijon and some honey – taste as you go along
  • a handful of pomegranate seeds

Fill up your endive salad and top with mayo and pomegranate. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

