Sherry flavored chanterelle soup topped with marinated herbs

The “yellow forest gold” many people say and  I agree. These lovely golden chanterelles my sweet college gave to me a few months ago and she gave me PLENTY ; ) I was totally thrilled and enjoyed them fried on grain free bread and in a quiches etc.  I knew I would be happy to have some saved and how right I was ha ha. I am still wondering what is the best way to handle your chanterelles before putting them in your freezer. The tips you get from chefs, mycologist or “mushroom experts” etc varies. Some say you should always parboil them before putting them in the freezer and others say it is not necessary. It is also recommended to put them in water and freeze them with the water to make them really fresh and nice once defrosted.  I did both… well, not adding water but parboiled some and put some directly in the freezer. I did not use a plastic bag but a plastic container since that should be much better and not totally squeeze them into pieces.

However, once defrosted I could not really tell much of a difference. So maybe the conclusion is – their is not a given best solution. Maybe it also has to do with the quality of the chantarelles. Sometimes you are lucky and sometimes not so lucky ; ) I would be happy to hear how you go about? Feel free to leave a comment – I would love to hear from you.

Here I give you a chantarelle soup with marinated herbs etc. Recipe below. Enjoy!

_IMG1600

_IMG1606

1

_IMG1718


CHANTARELLE SOUP WITH MARINATED HERBS, PISTACHIO NUTS AND FRIED CHANTARELLE

I like to keep the “wild” flavor from the chantarelles and not let strong spices “take over” in this soup. My topping adds some extra flavor. I “marinated” parsley and coriander (but you can use any herbs you like – thyme is also great), in some avocado oil (or olive oil) together with some apple vinegar and a tiny bit of salt. Chop your herbs  (I used a handful) and pour over two tablespoons of the oil including vinegar.  It does not need to sit long – I only left them there a few minutes.

Serves 2-3

  • Approx 1 1/2 cup parboiled chantarelles (save some to fry later and use as topping)
  • 1 big glove of garlic
  • 1 grated carrot (I used roughly 1 cup)
  • 2 tbs olive oil
  • 3 tbs sherry
  • 1 1/2 cup of water
  • 1 cup full fat coconut milk
  • 1/2 tbs sea salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon white pepper (I was quite generous with white pepper but taste as you go along)
  • a dash of turmeric because of its lovely color

Gently fry your pressed garlic, grated carrots and chantarelles in olive oil. Add sherry, water, coconut milk and the seasoning. Let it all come to a boiling point and then simmer for roughly 15 min. Mix with a hand mixer to the consistency you desire. I left some bigger pieces of the chantarelles because I like that. This will be a pretty thick soup and if you prefer to have it thinner just add more liquid. Taste and add more salt, pepper etc. if needed. It is hard to estimate exactly the amount of salt and pepper and I think that is better when the chef in charge makes that call ; ) See this as a guide to adjust to your preferences.

Topping: fried chanterelles in olive oil with sea salt, chopped pistachio nuts and marinated herbs (read above).

soppa

Leave a Reply

