Strawberry, orange, mint and fennel salad

Summer and winter flavors in this side salad. I could not resist the other day buying some fresh strawberries. They were surprisingly sweet and really delicious. It is always a gamble since you never know how they taste. And no, I am not a person trying out fruit and veggies at the grocery store as I see people do… I could never do that ha ha… But on the other hand I am so extremely programed on doing “things right” and I guess I personalize honesty and justice (maybe not in advantage for myself all the time but I believe in good karma and as long as I am doing right others have to live with their conscience… okay, now I talk about worse things than trying out a piece of strawberry ha ha). How did I go into that direction with my writing?! .. Anyhow, back on track… Nothing come close to my garden strawberries in summer time though… But you all know what I mean ; ) Now it is just to make the best of this season and if we can enjoy some decent and even delicious (but overly expensive ; ) strawberries then – go for it! ; )

Today was my free Wednesday and I guess it is too early to see a pattern ; ) but last time I updated here was on my last free Wednesday. It´s been a relaxing and good day. Both kids at home and everybody has been really content. I took my youngest to his first “circus gymnastic” session this late afternoon. I am still asking myself what part had any relation to the name “circus”?!! No, I knew it would be a more traditional playful gymnastic appropriate for their young age, but I still find it amusing using that approach to make it sound all that much more exciting and challenging than it is. I stayed a bit longer watching the jujutsu practice in the same building. This was something I devoted myself to during some time of my life and I thought it was so much fun. I tried to convince and had a pep talk with my oldest in the hope that he might like to give it at least a try. I think it is an amazing sport – varied, disciplined, challenging, excellent for endurance, agility, strength and most of all so much fun. My “career” was sort of over when I dislocated my elbow… : ( So all I can say is – don´t stand up and try to do a cool surfing pose on a traditional snow sledge.. that is not a good idea ; ) Well, I am rambling on here but will leave you guys here now with my easy salad recipe. I think this one would be really nice on a summer evening as well. I love the taste of liquorish and this is sort of a fruity side salad that works really nice with fennel and the honey and Dijon dressing. We enjoyed this with chicken skewers. Enjoy! Anja : )

_IMG0550


STRAWBERRY, ORANGE, MINT AND FENNEL SALAD

Side salad

Salad

  • 8 large leaves of romaine lettuce (gently chopped or as I did – used my hands)
  • 1 fennel nicely and thinly sliced
  • a big handful of fresh spinach
  • 15-20 strawberries sliced
  • 1 large orange. Use a knife to take of the skin and make small nice pieces from the orange.
  • 1/2 cup of pistachio nuts
  • A small hand of chopped mint leafs to spinkle on top of the salad

Dressing

  • 4 tbs olive oil
  • 7 tbs orange juice (fresh squeezed)
  • 1,5 teaspoon of honey
  • 1 teaspoon of Dijon mustard
  • a small pinch of chili flakes
  • sea salt (add to your preferences)

Place the lettuce, fennel, spinach and the remaining ingredients on a big plate. Mix all ingredients well for the dressing and drizzle over the salad when serving.

The remaining strawberries ended up in a smoothie (orange, mint, strawberries, lime juice) to which I also added a
banana and coconut milk. Fresh and simple! : )

_IMG0485

3 thoughts on “Strawberry, orange, mint and fennel salad

Leave a Reply

