Breakfast bowl with a pecan and sweet potato mousse

_IMG0568

Today is my free Wednesday. I am off every second Wednesday and that is the day me and my boys hang around at home taking it easy or do some kind of fun activity. I so much appreciate these free Wednesdays together with them. I cherish the slow day´s where there are no obligations and I know they feel the same way. I can look up from my computer and see them running around at a field outside of my window. They are happy and content. Me too and a perfect time to check in here and make an update. ; )

This recipe contains one ingredient I love – namely sweet potato. The first time I ate sweet potato was when I was working and studying in the States. The first time was in 1995 (yes, it´s sooo long ago). I had just graduated from Senior High School and I was eager to go abroad for some time. I decided to do something completely different and applied to be an Au Pair and also partly be studying. I spent more than a year in Boston and loved every single second. Life was just a big happy vacation full of new friendships, adventures and new experiences. I was leaving young and clueless about what to do with my future and coming back home with a different focus and a set goal on what to do next. Even though this is 18 years ago (oh, my god!!! : ) I still have so many clear and fond memories. The host family I stayed with introduced me to sweet potato. I don´t even know if I had spotted it in a Swedish grocery store. Probably, but I just wasn´t aware of it and my interest in cooking was a bit more limited at this time (but it exploded shortly thereafter). My host mom always baked them in the microwave and filled them with butter or some great fillings. She is actually one key person who got me more interested in cooking. I have a hand written recipe book from her with my favorite recipes from my “Concord stay”. Many of them are not paleo friendly but I still make plenty of her recipes (I simply paleofied some of them ; ).

It is not very often there are left over sweet potato which is strange since I am the only one keen on eating them ; ) Hmmm… they just have a tendency to disappear : ) Yes, I admit it – I can eat a huge amount of roasted sweet potatos with some olive oil and sea salt or together with a nice dip. However, sometimes I restrain myself just to be able to make sweet potato puree. It´s so useful in smoothies, cakes, bread, desserts etc. This sweet potato and pecan mousse I have made a few times this winter.  The combination of spices used I find perfect for a winter day.

Maybe you would also like to give this a try? : ) If so, I hope you will Enjoy.

_IMG0590
_IMG0581

PECAN AND SWEET POTATO BREAKFAST BOWL

Winter flavors in this breakfast bowl – pecan and sweet potato mousse with cinnamon, ginger, turmeric, cardamon etc.

Serves 1

  • ½ cup sweet potato puree (oven baked sweet potato with a little dash of sea salt and olive oil and mixed with a little bit of coconut milk to get a  “potato mash” consistency.)
  • 10 pecan nuts (or more if you like)
  • 1 banana
  • 4 tbs of coconut cream
  • 1 teaspoon of cinnamon
  • ½ teaspoon of ground ginger
  • ½ teaspoon of ground turmeric
  • ½ teaspoon of ground cardamom
  • 3 tbs of coconut milk
  • 1/2 apple
  • 1 tbs of dried cranberries (I used unsweetened)Mix all ingredients in a mixer until you reach a nice mousse consistency. Just enjoy directly or keep in the fridge for a while. If you do so your mousse will be a bit thicker but I find it nice as well.

Topping: pistachio nuts, cacao nibs, pecan nuts, dried cranberries, mint leaves.
I have not used any sweetening since I think it is enough with the banana. Yet, you can naturally add some natural sweetening of your own choice (honey for instance).

Leave a Reply

