Lemon and lucuma flavored nut square (raw)

This raw treat I made this past fall and I totally forgot about them until I was deleting pics from my camera the other day. The pretty red leaves on the picture are from our grapevine. The plant does not give us any grapes (yet… or I wonder if it ever will ; ) but in the fall the grapewine makes a wall that totally stands out in our garden with its amazing dark red leaves. I still remember that I had a bad flu this past fall but it was not cold and our hammock was still out there. I took a blanket, placed myself in the hammock and just watched the pretty leaves. I am sure it did me good ; )

Anyhow, back to my little raw treat. I had luckily also written down the recipe while experimenting and I remember enjoying them.  I stored them in the freezer and the best part was that I could eat them right away since they do not go all icy instead they stay soft. What I also liked about them was that they were not too sweet. A good balance and the lemon zest made them really fresh. Lucuma powder is great for adding some maple like sweetness. It is also a low glycemic sweetener. Lucuma is natural and comes from the Peruvian lucuma fruit that has been dried at low temperatures and milled into a fine powder. I enjoy it a lot in raw treats and sometimes also in my smoothies. You should really give it a try if you haven´t : ) Recipe below.

_IMG3732_1

LEMON AND LUCUMA FLAVORED RAW SQUARES

6 dried soft dates
5 dried soft figs
1 cup walnuts
1/2 cup hazelnuts
1 cup shredded coconut
1 tbs lucuma (or use more if you want your raw squares sweeter)
2 tbs coconut oil
1/2 medium sized carrot
zest from one ecological lemon
1/3 cup of water (or a bit more)

Topping: plenty of dried goji berries and chopped hazelnuts

Mix all ingredients except the water in a mixer. Add water and mix once more. Use your hands to flatten out the raw “dough” on a baking paper in a suitable form. Generously place goji berries and hazelnuts on top. Place in freezer for a while and thereafter cut squares in the size you desire. You can store the raw squares in the freezer or in the fridge.
Enjoy!

One thought on “Lemon and lucuma flavored nut square (raw)

Leave a Reply

