Apple, coconut and pecan cake

Lots of apples that I figured nobody would finished before they got old. Never a problem here and I happily started making something as an afternoon snack yesterday. I often make an apple compote (love it in a chia pudding) or some kind of apple crumble, cake or pie. This was just another cake experiment and I enjoyed it still warm from the oven with whipped coconut cream. Leftovers were great this morning as a breakfast. First day back at work after a long Christmas break and the first time ever I over slept. Since I had my boys I never slept longer than 7 o´clock and that happens rarely. Early morning are really my time. I love my peaceful time when I can drink my coffee and just enjoy my own time. I am never grumpy – I am the other way around and I think I am really annoying for anyone really tired in the morning. When I´ve been up for about 30 min my four year old usually comes down and I get lots of morning hugs and kisses. Four year old´s just have endless of kisses and hugs (my big boy occasionally are generous with them ; ).  Anyhow, waking up at seven and still made it to work half an hour later. For me this was pretty impressing and I still managed to shower, do my daily make up routine and eat breakfast. I was very happy to have my apple cake.  It sure saved me some time : ).

It was a lot of fun being back at work. I was filled with new energy and motivation. I hope that last until the summer holiday ha ha.

This is a quick and easy cake. Not a dessert cake (or maybe you will find it suitable for that too) but great as a snack or why not as a brunch/breakfast alternative. Enjoy!

_IMG0107

_IMG0112

_IMG0132

_IMG0141
CAKE WITH APPLES AND PECANS

2-3 servings
Step 1

  • 5 apples sliced
  • 1 tbs coconut oil
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground ginger
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground tumeric
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cardamon
  • 2 tbs sukrin gold or honey (or other sweetener of your own preference)

 Step 2

  • 5 eggs
  • 1/2 cup melted coconut oil
  • 1/2 cup coconut flour
  • 1,5 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 cup full fat coconut milk
  • 3 tbs hazelnut butter (I used home made but store bought would naturally be just fine)
  • 2 tbs of sukrin gold or honey etc.
  • topping: pecan nuts

Grease a baking form with coconut oil. Place the sliced apples in the form with the sweetener and all spices. Use your hands to mix it all well. Place all remaining ingredients (step 2) in a mixer (or use an electrical hand whipper) and mix it all for a while until you have a “pancake batter” consistency. Pour it over the apples. I used a small bag of pecans to place on top (approx 1 1/2 cup). Bake for about 25 min (or until golden) on 350 degrees F/175 degrees C.

Leave a Reply

