Frittata with mushrooms and Swiss chard

This will be the last post now with Swiss chard : ) Frittata is a great quick lunch that I often make. Or serve when arranging a brunch. Here made with sauteed mushrooms and Swiss chard and plenty of nutmeg. I must say I enjoy a frittata even more the second day and to serve it cold with (grain free) bread is great. I do not know why but it is like the flavors matured even better and it makes a great filling breakfast. Of course a new baked frittata is also wonderful ; ) I never really measure when seasoning my food and I think it depends on your own preferences – do you like it more salty och spicy? Of course one should naturally be a bit careful with salt but it makes a big difference and not leaving your food bland. I do not require all that much salt but my husband is the other way around and he thinks I am always too careful with salt. ; ) I think it is better to add some more salt afterwards. Recipe below.

_IMG9626_IMG9642

_IMG9690

_IMG9684

_IMG9707

FRITTATA WITH MUSHROOMS AND SWISS CHARD

  • 1 cup chopped Swiss chard
  • 10 mushrooms nicely sliced
  • 2 tbs of olive oil
  • 4 large (ecological) egg (I used really big ones. The farm where I pick up my eggs are enormous and sometimes I wonder if one sometimes makes two eggs ; )
  • 2 tbs of rich coconut milk
  • 1/2 (or more) teaspoon of sea salt
  • generously with fresh grated nutmeg
  • dried red pepper and some chili powder
  • topping: a handful of chopped sun dried tomatoes and fresh parsley

I used a size smaller frying pan (oven proof). Saute your mushrooms and chard in olive oil. Season and add lightly beating egg and coconut milk. Bake on 400 degrees F/200 degrees C for 20-25 min or until golden.  Serve with sun dried tomatoes and parsley. Enjoy! : )

Leave a Reply

