A green yummy start

Good morning to all of you who found my blog. I am really thrilled to see some comments – thank you! I know I am not the only one loving a green smoothie to start off the day with. What really took this smoothie to another level is the lemon balm and I also love the adding of celery. Celery is beneficial for the digestive tract and not to mention all good vitamins. Lemon balm is used for digestive problems such as an upset or bloated stomach. Even though I do not suffer from my IBS any longer I love to eat these kind of “greens” since I know they do my or any stomach good. : )

The sweet adding in this smoothie comes from banana and orange. I think it never happened that I did not add avocado to a green smoothie. I simply LOVE avocado and if I was stranded on a desert island where I only could eat one thing is would definitely be avocado : )  Well, here I left it out and even though avocado would have made my smoothie even creamier I was really satisfied with the outcome. I think that kale is an amazing cabbage which I often use in a smoothie but this time I replaced it with some Swiss chard. You got to make use of what you have ; ) Referring to what I wrote in a previous post Swiss chard often comes in large packages and therefore there is a lot of chard inspo at the moment. There will be one more to come ; ) But after that I´ll make a stop ha ha.

_IMG9819_IMG9829

GREEN SMOOTHIE

makes one serving (a really big glass)

  • 1/2 cup of chopped Swiss chard
  • 10-15 fairly large leaves of lemon balm
  • 2 stalks of celery chopped
  • 1 banana
  • half an orange (not only the juice)
  • 1/2 cup of water
  • 3/4-1/2 cup rich and creamy coconut milk
  • Topping: pomegranate seeds

Blend it all well in a high speed blender. Enjoy and have a great day!
Anja

Leave a Reply

